Throwback Thursdays #5 “Standing Knee Deep in the River, and Dying of Thirst.”

I was in the process of working on this when I heard about the death of author Terry Prachett. I took a detour then and decided to write about him and the influence his book Good Omens had on my theology.

So here is my “Throwback Thursday a few days late…

“Standing Knee Deep in the River, and Dying of Thirst.”

It is the first week of March, the warm weather appears to be here, it is sunnier later, and the piles of snow are melting away. Spring is finally coming near, and the long, cold hibernation is about to end. I’m in love with an amazing woman, we have fun together, we do things together…live is good.

I’m sitting here with my Google calendars open, I say calendars because I actually have 4 of them; 1) My “Non ministerial day job” work calendar, 2) My “Personal” one which has everything from events I want to attend, weddings and speaking appearances, and family obligations. And I also have 2 others that are also important, at least from May until October- One listing all the Vintage Base Ball matches in the State of Michigan, many I get asked to guest umpire, but I also put out a weekly “flyer” listing all of them and run a facebook page devoted to it, Michigan Area Vintage Base Ball.

The final calendar I maintain is for the site of Old Tiger Stadium in Detroit, the historic corner of Michigan and Trumbull, I am involved with a group of volunteers, The Navin Field Grounds Crew, a group of unsung baseball fans,  who have rescued the field from near abandonment by the cit of Detroit, and who try to keep it available, free of charge for people to use, until it is re-developed. I help them by maintaining an online calendar/schedule of events there, and I also bring Civil War era Base Ball (two words) there every Sunday (and some Saturdays and week nights as well.)

The NFGC as they are known have been the subject of an award winning documentary “Stealing Home,” by director Jason Roche (I appear in the after credits scene of the DVD, performing the wedding of Grounds Crew founder Tom Derry and his lovely wife Sarah.)

Here’s the trailer if you’re interested;

The Derrys and the field are also, as I mention in the above sermon, are also the subject of a romantic comedy in production now, called “Babe Ruth Saves Detroit.” (I play myself in this movie, actually.)

My calendar is open to the month of May, the start of base ball season, and between that, weddings, the end of the medschool year with a couple big weekend events and the memorial service I have the honor of officiating, I’m starting to feel a little stressed with all I have to do. And I’m starting to forget that I CHOOSE to be this busy in the summer… I actually choose all my life experiences.

This week’s flashback sermon is a reminder to me, and hopefully a nice lesson for you all on finding the joy in our lives, no matter how hectic it may seem. I gave it late last summer, where I had just completed a particularly stressful, and amazing stretch of adventures… But where I allowed myself to get stressed about it, and forget many times to bask in the sheer joy of all the wonderful, and often unique  things I was doing at the time. I was much like the character in the Robert Fulghum story or the song I mention in the talk by Kathy Mattea, I was standing knee deep in the river of an abundance of good…and I was dying of thirst; complaining about it on many levels. Saying I was too busy, too tired, my feet hurt, anything.

Forgetting the time I was so depressed that I spent months not leaving my couch except to go to work.

So this sermon is about the idea of stopping in the midst of whatever we are doing and becoming aware of it, and appreciative of it as well. I explore the subtle difference between gratitude and apappreciationpreciation, a notion that was new to me at the time of doing the sermon. I find the difference between the two intriguing, and find that appreciation seems deeper.

I conclude this talk by sharing an obituary that went viral a couple years ago. It was about a gentlemen named Harry Stamps, a man who clearly lived his life as the author SARK described;  “live juicyHe lived Juicy”.

Enjoy this talk, I hope it helps you to feel less frazzled and more appreciative of what’s going on in your own lives. And as usual, leave comments in the section below, or use the contact box to the  right. And please share my blog with anyone who might benefit by my humble scratchings.

Bless You!

Harry Stamp’s amazing obituary, written by his daughter can be found here.

About revcopado

Rev. Michael F. Copado is an ordained Unity Minister (Unity School of Christianity class of 2003) and a graduate of Unity’s Urban Ministerial School in Detroit. He has served at or spoken at Unity/New Thought churches in Michigan, Missouri and Florida. He was the founder of the Center for Positive Christianity in Wellington Florida, and helped found the Spiritual Life Center of Midtown Detroit (now Spiritual Life Center of Ferndale.) He is one of the officiants of Wayne State University School of Medicine’s annual interfaith memorial service for those who have donated their bodies for medical research. He is an accomplished retreat leader and small group facilitator. He was a regular facilitator of men’s workshops and retreats such as “Man Alive” and for the Detroit Men’s Wisdom Council, and Men of Today (the Men’s group of the Church of Today, in Warren Michigan.) He has also been involved with “The Living Course,” “Taking It Lightly,” and the “Bamboo Bridge” weekend workshops. His 6 week course, “Knowing God, Knowing Ourselves, and Knowing Each Other” was a featured course at Unity Village Chapel, the main worship center at Unity Village. He also has worked at the Silent Unity Prayer Ministry, and was a contributor to The Daily Word magazine. He is a passionate advocate for Marriage Equality, a women’s right to choose, physician assisted suicide, as well as racial and gender equality. He is also a firm believer in healthy human sexuality, and sexual education, having assisted in the human sexuality curriculum at Wayne State School of Medicine and facilitated the online “Sex and Spirituality” discussion for several years on Literotica.com. Rev. Michael is available in Michigan for preaching/public speaking, retreats/workshops, as well as weddings, commitment ceremonies, memorials and divorce/separation rituals.
This entry was posted in Sermon audios, Throwback Thursdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

